Skip to content

~ A Thank You Letter to my Dad ~

June 20, 2011

This year, I decided to do the usual…lunch at a special place with Mom for her day, a tie for Dad, for his. But I also wanted to do something else. Something I don’t get the chance, or take the chance to do often enough. And that is, to THANK them for everything they did for me, from my birth day, to today. I wrote a blog post for my Mom for Mother’s Day…you can read it here.

And now, on this Father’s Day, I want to thank you, Dad, for all the things you have done for me, and meant to me over the years.

Thank you…

For naming me LeAnn…I like that I’m named after you and mom. 

For going to church with Mom. And listening to Pastor Skidmore. And giving your life to Jesus.

For taking us to church every week, and teaching us about God at home, too.

Thank you…

For family devotionals at Christmastime,

and Easter flowers,

and thankful Thanksgivings.

Thank you…

For not being mad that time I got in big trouble in Kindergarten. (The teacher was being unfair, and I think you secretly knew that).

For picking me up from 2nd grade everyday and taking me to Thrifty for a Chocolate Malted Crunch ice cream cone on the way home.

For waking us up one night to tell us we were going to a late showing of The Jesus Movie. I thought you were the coolest Dad ever, to take us to the movie theater in “the middle of the night”.

Thank you…

For family drives, just to drive. It was your way of getting the family together to talk or just have singalongs in the car and be together. I’m thankful that quality time was important to you.

For roller skating outings. {We showed everyone who the REAL skating stars were!}

For being comforting when I was afraid.

Thank you…

For surrendering to the ministry… which meant leaving a great job, and selling the house, and moving your family, to answer God’s call. That’s the most amazing display of real, live  faith I’ve ever seen.

For working various  jobs to provide for us, while going to school full-time, and then some. This allowed you to finish faster, and it required a crazy amount of work and dedication.

For your unrelenting commitment to do God’s will;  then and now.

Thank you…

For trying your hardest to catch me at the top of that hill.

For protecting Mom’s heart in that moment.

For your love and care as I healed, physically and emotionally.

Thank you…

For putting up with my Jr. High years.

For giving me just enough freedom to try and figure out who I was.

For helping me with reports…you are a great writer, and you loved to show me how to come up with the best ways to express myself.

Thank you…

For being nice (mostly) to my highschool boyfriends.

For always trusting me, while setting boundaries and realistic expectations.

For encouraging me to do my favorite thing… to sing.

Thank you…

For paying for years of piano lessons and vocal coaching.

For sending me on tours with the Continental Singers.

For coming to concerts in other cities, just to see us perform again.

For letting me record that ridiculous, operatic version of a musical greeting on the family answering machine. And for not telling me how ridiculous it was.

For always letting me be ME.

Thank you…

For coming to highschool football games and other events, just to hear me sing.

For letting me use your car everyday for school, and not being too mad when I totaled it.

For loving my brother and doing anything you needed to do, for him to be well.

Thank you…

For a wedding that was fit for a princess.

For reassuring me that day in the hospital, that my baby is in heaven.

For being a great Papaw to my children.

For encouraging and praying for me when times got hard.

Thank you…

For standing by me when I went through the toughest and most consuming valley of my life.

For loving me when I was unlovable.

For never letting go of me, or giving up on me.

Thank you…

For showing me that God gives second chances.

For meeting Wayne and giving him a chance.

For accepting him, and his kids into the family.

For another wedding, fit for a princess.

Thank you…

For helping on many occasions when resources were scarce and hope was low.

For being there when our Gracie was born. Lauren still remembers watching the Crocodile Hunter with you because she didn’t want to be in the room.

For being “Papaw” to all 7 kids …and their friends.

Thank you…

For seeing in me something others couldn’t, or didn’t want to see.

For letting me do what I love, and trusting me with it.

For always believing in me, and telling me I’m good at anything I’ve done.

For your integrity; faith; love.

…and so much more.

Sincerely,

Me.

My dad, Dr. Larry Dotson

~Happy Father’s Day~

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

