Skip to content

People Investing in People

September 19, 2011

Sometimes God sends you just what you need, so that you’ll see a situation the way He does.

I’ve been really discouraged, worried, and downright scared about an upcoming event. In fact, I had the whole, “nobody likes me/eat worms” cry-fest with Wayne a couple days ago. Truth is, sometimes we are so hurt by something, it changes the way we look at the world, at life, at the future, at ourselves.  I like to think that I’m not that easily influenced, but this one really hit me where it hurt.

But what I’ve found is that God really doesn’t leave us or forsake us. I’ve felt Him in the dark times over these past 9 months, and I knew that He was the one holding me up when I didn’t feel like I could do it on my own.

So, back to the reason I’m writing this post. I had the most wonderful talk with a friend today. She’s not a friend who knows me very well, and not a friend whom I’ve known for very long, but she took time out of her day to look me in the eye and say some really genuine words of support. Such encouraging and generously uplifting words.

People need us.

People are hurting everywhere we go. In the office next to you. In the house 3 doors down. At the desk next to you in Chemistry. Everywhere, there are people who need someone to invest in them.  To encourage. To lift up. To pour into them truth, and authenticity, and love.

There’s a woman named Sara, who is close to meeting Jesus face to face. Her friends are celebrating her life and the way she impacted their lives and gave to them – even through her illness and pain. She is leaving a legacy and a model of choosing joy in her suffering. Her friends and family would agree that she has given them more than they ever could give her. Even in her last moments, she continues to invest.

There’s a Mommy who just adopted 2 little boys from Ethiopia. They are living a life that their friends in Africa dream of everyday. She is giving them so much love, so many opportunities. Teaching them English. Getting them new clothes. Taking them to church. Hugging and kissing them every chance she gets. Investing in their little, precious lives.

When you get the chance, talk to someone. Listen to them. Show them your heart. Think of every contact as an opportunity to make a positive difference in someone’s life. It’ll change yours, too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

