Skip to content

Encouragement, Blessings, and Chocolate

January 12, 2012

A few weeks ago, I got an email asking me…{ME!?}….to teach 3 seminars on Children’s Music at a Worship Conference. In my years in ministry, I’ve directed children’s choirs, taught class music, and always been involved in Worship and Children’s ministries. So I’m super excited, but at times I feel unworthy; ill-equipped. My adult A.D.D. grabs hold of my brain, and I can’t remember the stuff I want to pull from to prepare my talks. And then the little voice inside my head tells me that I’m not good enough to do something like this.

And then I eat some chocolate and tell the voice to shut it.

I know it’ll all come together…it’s just that initial “Oh my gosh…what am I going to say!?!” feeling. It’ll pass.

I’ve always wanted to be a speaker at conferences, retreats, and seminars. And whenever I’ve had the opportunity to lead worship or speak at one, I’m completely blessed, humbled, and more prepared for the next one. This is what I want to do with my life…write, speak, and lead people in worship of our Savior. So I can’t wait!!!

This  conference is happening twice, so I’ll be doing my thing at both. One in Livermore (up in Northern California) and one in Riverside (Southern CA). Wayne gets to go with me to the first one {YAY!}, so we will make a trip of it. He’s never been to the Northern parts of California. He’s really missed out! All he knows of CA are beaches, Bakersfield, and the Grapevine. So, we’ll take a little detour before we come home and go to San Francisco and maybe even go over to Mill Valley to see my old 3rd grade home at Golden Gate Baptist Theological Seminary, and maybe even take a glance at the hill I tragically fell down when we lived there. That’ll be fun.

Then, at the end of February, we’ll go down to Riverside, and I’ll see another old home of mine – California Baptist University. In fact, the conference venue is our old church, Magnolia Ave. Baptist Church. I’ll never forget it…we always sang the song, “The Family of God” at the end of every service. Every. Single. Service.

I must say, it was very comforting – after a year of loss, rejection, and broken dreams – to be invited to teach at these workshops. There are days that I wonder why God gave me gifts but hasn’t opened the door for me to use them in the way I think He should… 🙂

But I feel like God is using this opportunity to say, “I think You’re worthy, and I’m all that matters. I’m not finished with you, yet.”

Ever feel like you’ll never get that advancement? That opportunity? That home? That spouse? Do you ever feel that you’ve prayed and longed for something and it’ll never come?

Friend ~ I feel ya.

I want to encourage you to try to find God’s comfort in the little blessings He sends your way (a lot less fattening than that chocolate I often seek out for comfort). If you’re still on this earth, He’s not finished with your work here, yet.

May the Lord bless you in all things, and may you feel His hand on your life as you walk through even the most disappointing of times. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 2:16 am

    It seems that I remember that song “Family of God” must have been a back in the day thing. Back east we sang it for the greeting time. Maybe in your conference teaching you could work in a way…well….my Sarah’s favorite thing to tell Stephen was “Play the happy music please” Then she would sing and dance at the time it was Darlene Zch. or ever how you spell her name. She knew every word to the happy music. Now she is living in happy music land.
    Cyndi

Leave a Reply

